Are There Any People in the World Who Don't Love Playing with PlayDough?
It's really too bad most commercial playdoughs contain wheat and aren't gluten-free. After all, who can resist molding and creating when you hold a ball of playdough in your hands? I know I can't.
When my daughter was younger one of her favorite things was waking up in the morning to discover I had made a new color of playdough for her. I'll always remember that look on her face and that great big smile as her mind was already busy at work thinking what she'd create first.
It took me a little while to develop just the right recipe for the playdough. This dough has the perfect texture and consistency. White rice flour is the best gluten-free flour for an allergen free playdough. I tried many others but white rice delivers the best results.
Gluten-Free, Allergen-Free Playdough Recipe
Makes 1½ cups
In a medium sized bowl whisk together:
1½ cups white rice flour
¾ cup salt (see notes below)
1 tablespoon cream of tartar
In a 2 cup measuring cup whisk together:
1½ cups water
1½ tablespoons extra light olive oil
food coloring (5 – 7 drops) or 1(¼ ounce) package Kool-Aid drink mix (see notes below for those with corn allergies)
Add liquid ingredients to dry and whisk together briskly. Place mixture in non-stick skillet on low heat. Stir often with a spatula for 2 – 3 minutes or until the dough begins to thicken and congeal and resemble the consistency of play dough. (I often flip mine like a giant pancake to cook thoroughly.) Dough will also change to a slightly darker shade when it is done, which helps identify which parts may need to cook longer.
Remove the pan from heat and allow the dough to cool sufficiently for handling. Once slightly cool, knead dough vigorously several times.
Store in an airtight container or resealable zippered bag when not being used. The playdough stays fresh for months.
Notes and Tips:
- For those with corn allergies, iodized table salt contains dextrose derived from corn. Dextrose is added to stabilize the iodide. Use a corn-free salt or sea salt.
- If using Kool-Aid choose the packages without any added sugar or sweetener.
- Darker colors of Kool-Aid provide the best shades for play dough. (At the time of this writing Kool-Aid is gluten-free but is not corn-free.)
- Many food dyes also contain corn. There are many sites on the web that show you how to create your own natural food dyes.
- I tried this recipe with several gluten-free flours and found white rice seemed to give the dough the best consistency.